4 min read

NFL Playoffs: Wildest Stats From Divisional Round

Jan 21, 2023; Kansas City, Missouri, USA; Kansas City Chiefs quarterback Chad Henne (4) throws against the Jacksonville Jaguars during the first half in the AFC divisional round game at GEHA Field at Arrowhead Stadium. Mandatory Credit: Jay Biggerstaff-USA TODAY Sports

Better Late Than Never

The Chiefs got a scare on Saturday when Patrick Mahomes suffered a high ankle sprain late in the first quarter of the Chiefs' 27-17 win against the Jaguars. Mahomes was eventually replaced for a single drive before halftime by longtime backup Chad Henne.

Henne, who has been in the NFL since 2008, drove the Chiefs 98 yards, culminating in his first-ever playoff touchdown pass.  The 98-yard drive is the longest postseason drive in Chiefs history, surpassing the previous mark of 94.

Going for the Record

Brett Maher missed five extra points in the Cowboys' two playoff games after adding another one on Sunday. That's the second-most by any kicker in a postseason career in NFL history. The only player with more was Roy Gerela in the 1970s, who missed six in 15 playoff games with the Steelers.

Joe Cool

Joe Burrow has changed the culture of winning in Cincinnati. The Bengals have won as many playoff games (five) in the last 13 months as they had in the first 52 years of the franchise's existence.

Burrow, 26, became the first quarterback selected No. 1 overall to win five playoff games prior to his 27th birthday. He also joined Russell Wilson and Ben Roethlisberger as the only quarterbacks to win five playoff games within their first three seasons.

Kelce's Record-Breaking Day

Chiefs tight Travis Kelce set the record for most catches by a tight end in an NFL postseason game at 14, and he became the only player to reach 10 receptions and two touchdowns in the first half of a postseason game three times. No other player has done it more than once.

Oh, and Kelce moved into fourth all-time in NFL postseason receiving yards, passing former Cowboys wide receiver Michael Irvin. He trails only Rob Gronkowski, Julian Edelman, and Jerry Rice.

A Historic Beatdown

The Eagles' 38-7 thumping of the Giants on Saturday night was the largest margin of victory between divisional opponents in a postseason game since the 1970 AFL-NFL merger.

For Eagles fans, that score has a different meaning. Five years ago Philadelphia defeated Minnesota, 38-7, in the NFC Championship Game on its way to winning its first Super Bowl in franchise history.

A Highmark No More

Going into Sunday, the Bills were 13-1 in home playoff games since 1988. Their loss to the Bengals is only their second home playoff loss in the last 35 years.

The 10 points the Bills scored is their lowest scoring output at home since December 6, 2021, when they lost, 14-10, to the Patriots in the infamous high-wind game where the Patriots ran the ball 46 times and threw the ball three times.

All the Old Familiar Faces

The Chiefs will appear in their fifth straight AFC Championship Game, making them only the fourth team to appear in three or more consecutive AFC title games (Patriots, 2011-18; Bills, 1990-93; Raiders 1973-77).

Andy Reid will become the third head coach in NFL history to appear in 10 conference championships, joining Bill Belichick (13) and Tom Landry (10). Reid tied Landry (20) for the second-most postseason wins in NFL history. Only Belichick (31) has more.

It has been 20 years since the AFC Championship Game did not feature at least one of the following quarterbacks: Patrick Mahomes, Tom Brady, Ben Roethlisberger or Peyton Manning. During that time, Brady appeared in 12, while Mahomes, Manning and Roethlisberger appeared in four. The last time a game did not feature any of those four names was the 2002 AFC Championship (played in 2003) between the Tennessee Titans and the Oakland Raiders. Two analysts for The 33rd Team, Eddie George and Rich Gannon, started that game.

Sad Day for Cowboys

The Cowboys remain one of only three NFC teams (Commanders, Lions) to not make an NFC Championship appearance in the past 27 years.

Dak Prescott did not have a turnover in Dallas' Wild Card win over the Buccaneers but threw two interceptions on Sunday. The last time Prescott had consecutive games without a turnover was in December 2019.

Zeke Elliott has touched the ball 55 times in the Cowboys' last four games. His longest gain was nine yards.

Reading, Running, Winning

Philadelphia found a weakness in the Giants' run defense and exposed it.

The Eagles finished Saturday's game with 33 zone read rushes for 221 yards and two touchdowns. That's the third-most zone-read rushes in any NFL game, postseason or regular season since the stat began being tracked in 2011.

Shock Purdy

Brock Purdy became the fifth rookie quarterback in NFL history to start and win a Divisional Round playoff game. He joins Mark Sanchez, Joe Flacco, Ben Roethlisberger, and Shaun King. Purdy has as many playoff wins in his career (two) as Dak Prescott.